Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins (Review)

17 Sep

Description

Anna was looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more.  So she’s less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris-until she meets Etienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Etienne has it all . . . including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true.  Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

My thoughts

I went into this book with very high expectations because many people were praising it and I must say that it sort of disappointed me. I didn’t hate it but I wish I could have liked Anna and the French Kiss more than I did.

There were so many moments in which I felt like throwing the book against the wall. 3-4 pages in the book and Anna-the main character- falls in love with literally the first boy she encounters in Paris, Etienne St. Clair- French name, English accent, American school, the hottest guy in school,maybe in the whole city- and of course he has to fall in love with her, even though he already has a girlfriend.

My biggest problem with this book was that I didn’t like Anna or Etienne. She annoyed me from the very beginning. Anna is constantly complaing. Firstly, she’s angry for being sent to Paris then,when she goes home for the Christmas vacation, she starts complaining about America…like she is suddenly too good for it, because, you know, she is a true Parisian right now. Anna is hypocritical, she tends to judge everyone else and she’s very selfish, making almost every situation about herself. Etienne: I have mixed feelings about him. I mean, he cheats on his girlfriend and he is afraid of breaking up with her, but take Anna out of the picture and I might have liked him.

All in all, this book just didn’t live up to my expectations.

My rating  

Leave a Reply

