Leviathan – Scott Westerfeld (Review)

17 Sep

Description

Prince Aleksander, would-be heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, is on the run. His own people have turned on him. His title is worthless. All he has is a battletorn war machine and a loyal crew of men.

Deryn Sharp is a commoner, disguised as a boy in the British Air Service. She’s a brilliant airman. But her secret is in constant danger of being discovered.

With World War I brewing, Alek and Deryn’s paths cross in the most unexpected way…taking them on a fantastical, around-the-world adventure that will change both their lives forever.

My thoughts

It was a great story. I haven’t read anything else written by Scott Westerfeld, but I can say that the author has an extraordinary imagination.

Leviathan is a steampunk novel, a retelling of World War I. The world is devided into Clankers (who rely on machinery) and Darwinists (who rely on genetically modified animals). I liked the fact that the book included a map which showed how the world was set up. There were also many excellent illustrations, very detailed which helped me understand exactly how the animals and machines looked like.

Both the main and secondary characters were enjoyable and I really liked the interaction between the main ones, Alek (the prince of Austria) and Deryn (a Brithis girl, disguised as a boy in order to be able to join the Air Service).

I absolutely loved Leviathan and I can’t wait to read the second book in this series.

My rating: 

Leave a Reply

