The Hunter – L.J. Smith (Review)

18 Sep

Description

When Jenny buys a game for her boyfriend, Tom, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to the guy behind the counter. There is something mysteriously alluring about Julian’s pale eyes and bleached-blond hair. And when he places the Game into her hands, she knows their connection is comething deeper.

But as Jenny and her six friends begin to play the Game at Tom’s birthday celebration, a night of friends and fun quickly turns into a night of terror and obsessive love. Because the Game isn’t just a game – it’s the seven friends’ new reality, where Julian reigns as the Prince of the Shadows.

One by one the friends must confront their phobias to win the Game. To lose the Game is to lose their lives. And that is only the beginning…

My thoughts

This book is the first one in the Forbidden Game trilogy. I actually have the bindup which contains all three books, but I decided to do separate reviews.

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I didn’t think I was going to enjoy it that much since it is written by L.J.Smith and I have a love-hate relationship with this author. She wrote The Secret Circle series, which I didn’t really like and The Vampire Diaries series, which is a guilty pleasure of mine.

The Hunter reminded me of Jumanji, a movie which I loved when I was younger. Jenny and her friends(Tom, Zach, Audrey, Dee, Summer, Michael) decide to play a game and they end being sucked into it where they meet the Shadow Man – the villain of this book who happens to be in love with our main character. He gives Jenny two options: give in and remain in his world or play the game, save her friends by facing their worst nightmares and go home.

I liked the idea of this book and the world created by the author. It was creepy and the nightmares were quite creative. The characters were ok, especially the bad guy. He actually was my favorite one, along with Dee. Jenny reminded me a little bit of Cassie(TSC) and Elena(TVD), not because she was also blonde, but because she was a little too “perfect”. Other than that she wasn’t annoying as the other two girls.

The Hunter was definitely an entertaining read and I would recommend it to you. I must warn you though that the story ends with a cliffhanger.

My rating  

Leave a Reply

