Where She Went – Gayle Forman (Review)

5 Oct

Description

It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future-and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I StayWhere She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

My thoughts

Where She Went was another book I couldn’t put down and I think I liked it a little bit more than If I Stay.

The story takes place three years after Mia’s accident, it is told from Adam’s perspective and I really liked that. We get to see how Adam’s life has been in these past years, his journey but also some flashbacks of his past, when Mia was still a part of his life.

Each chapter starts with lyrics of Shooting Star’s songs, Adam’s band, all of them being inspired by Mia. You can really see his pain and emotions in the lyrics and I think this added a nice touch to the book.

Adam is very intense, angry and depressed in this book and I understand why, but I feel that his incapacity to get past the breakup is a little bit unrealistic, since the story takes place three years after Mia left.

Mia’s explanation wasn’t my favourite and I still think she was selfish and she should have set him free, but I couldn’t stay mad at her considering what she had been through.

What I didn’t like about this book was the ending. I mean, I know it was a happy ending and it offered a closure, but I think what happened in the last few pages was rushed and cheesy. They got back together after spending a few hours together. It was like all those 3 years never existed. I am one of the few persons who didn’t want to see them becoming a couple again. I just wanted Adam to get the anticipated explanation from Mia, to sort his life and move on. I was relieved when he let go of her, but just after that scene they got together again. I want to pretend that the book ended with the bridge & ipod scene.

Quotes

Every morning I wake up and I tell myself this: ‘Its just one day, one twenty-four-hour period to get yourself through’.

But I’d do it again. I know that now. I’d make that promise a thousand times over and lose her a thousand times over to have heard her play last night or to see her in the morning sunlight. Or even without that. Just to know that she’s somewhere out there. Alive.

But still, I find the need to remind myself of the temporariness of a day, to reassure myself that I got through yesterday, I’ll get through today.

Letting go. Everyone talks about it like it´s the easiest thing. Unfurl your fingers one by one until your hand is open.

My rating

Leave a Reply

